2015 Scholarship Recipients

AAPD is proud to announce the recipients of the 2015 NBCUniversal Tony Coelho Media Scholarship! In 2015, AAPD was able to offer four (4) NBCUniversal Tony Coelho Media Scholarships to second year associate students; undergraduate sophomores, juniors, and seniors; and graduate students with disabilities pursuing communications or media-related degrees.


Christina BucciereChristina Bucciere headshot
Northwestern University

Christina Bucciere is pursuing a Master of Science in Journalism at Northwestern’s Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications. She is interested in creating compelling narrative, media management and industry innovation. She graduated summa cum laude from Kent State in 2014 with a B.S. in magazine journalism and a business minor.



Cate CarrejoCate Carrejo headshot
Fordham University

Cate Carrejo is from Houston, Texas and is currently a junior at Fordham University, studying Radio, Television and Film. An aspiring screenwriter and social justice advocate, Cate plans to start a production company that develops and produces entertainment media for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing community.



Kate GuarinoKate Guarino headshot
University of Southern California

Kate Guarino is a Junior at the University of Southern California Annenberg School. She is a dean’s scholar, majoring in print and digital journalism with a minor that combines political science, international relations, and web development. She is passionate about covering politics and breaking news.



Leah Katz-HernandezLeah Katz Hernandez headshot
American University

Leah Katz Hernandez is a current student at the American University’s Professional Masters in Strategic Communication program, in addition to working full-time at the White House as the West Wing Receptionist for the President. She intends to use her graduate education to make the world of professional communications strategy and public service more accessible to people with disabilities.

Our Sponsors